European Blockchain Partnership Declaration Signed By 22 Countries

EU Commission Press Release

0 456

The European Commission (EC) held a digital day in 2018 which then transformed to the signing of the declaration which would be a bridge to the European Blockchain partnership which is composed of 22 countries. This is according to the European Commission press release which was done on 10th April.

The EC vice president yesterday gave a speech where he urged Europe to be among the leaders in digital technologies. This is by working on the Blockchain innovation and also being keen on the Artificial intelligence.

Therefore, according to the press release, it reads that the partnership will be a;

“Vehicle for cooperation amongst the Member States to exchange experience and expertise in technical and regulatory fields and prepare for the launch of EU-wide [Blockchain] applications across the Digital Single Market for the benefit of the public and private sectors.”

Mariya Gabriel who’s the commissioner for the Digital Economy and Society gave the views on the potential especially for the Blockchain technology to be added to the current industry:

She said;

“In the future, all public services will use [Blockchain] technology. The blockchain is a great opportunity for Europe and the Member States to rethink their information systems, to promote user trust and the protection of personal data, to help create new business opportunities and to establish new areas of leadership, benefiting citizens, public services, and companies.”

During the press release, the issues of the Blockchain regulation was also addressed, and this stated that the partnership is meant to “contribute to the creation of an enabling environment, in full compliance with EU laws and with clear governance models that will help services using [Blockchain] flourish across Europe.” Therefore, the EU gave the reports that they will release Blockchain and EU-wide fintech framework.

Therefore, the various states who have been involved in the signing of the declaration of the partnership of Blockchain are; Germany, franc, Finland, Estonia, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Austria, Malta, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Latvia, Ireland,  Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Portugal Sweden, Spain, UK and Slovenia. Additionally, in accordance with the press release, other countries and states are also welcome to join.

The EC was on February involved in the launch of an EU Blockchain observatory and also a forum. Therefore, Gabriel called it “one of the world’s most comprehensive repositories of [Blockchain] experience and expertise.”

You might also like